21 April 2023

~2 minutes read

HURLING: Galway Senior Team Announced To Take On Wexford

Share story:
HURLING: Galway Senior Team Announced To Take On Wexford

The Galway senior hurling team to play Wexford in the Leinster championship on Saturday (22nd April) has been named.

Gearoid McInerney has been selected at full back with team captain Daithi Burke at centre back where he is flanked by the experienced duo of Padraig Mannion and Joseph Cooney.

Also in defence, T.J.Brennan starts a championship game for the first time. Thomas Monaghan and Ronan Glennon make up the midfield pairing while Conor Cooney is at centre forward and he will be making his 50th championship appearance for Galway, in a sector where Kevin Cooney makes his first championship start, after three substitute appearances last year.

Conor Whelan is named at corner forward. Both Fintan Burke and Cathal Mannion have recovered from injury to take their places on the bench.

The game, at Pearse Stadium, throws in at 4.30pm on Saturday and it is live on Galway Bay Fm.

The team in full is:

  1. Eanna Murphy (Tommy Larkins)
  2. Jack Grealish (Gort)
  3. Gearoid McInerney (Oranmore/Maree)
  4. T.J.Brennan (Clarinbridge)
  5. Padraig Mannion (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)
  6. Daithi Burke (Turloughmore)- captain
  7. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)
  8. Thomas Monaghan (Craughwell)
  9. Ronan Glennon (Mullagh)
  10. Cianan Fahy (Ardrahan)
  11. Conor Cooney (St.Thomas’)
  12. Kevin Cooney (Sarsfields)
  13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)
  14. Brian Concannon (Killimordaly)
  15. Evan Niland (Clarinbridge)
  16. Darach Fahy (Ardrahan)
  17. Fintan Burke (St.Thomas’)
  18. Darren Morrissey (Sarsfields)
  19. Eoin Lawless (Athenry)
  20. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)
  21. Sean Linnane (Turloughmore)
  22. Jason Flynn (Tommy Larkins)
  23. Liam Collins (Cappataggle)
  24. John Cooney (Sarsfields)
  25. Declan McLoughlin (Portumna)
  26. Martin McManus (Loughrea)

Share story:

Michael Maloney and George McDonagh on 'Over The Line' Chat about Preparation for the Galway Races

Galway Racecourse CEO Michael Maloney joined Galway Bay FM’s George McDonagh on Monday’s (17th June 2024) ‘Over The Line’ to chat ...

Galway United Half-Season Review on 'Over The Line' with George McDonagh, Cian O'Connell and Ollie Neary

With the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division currently taking a mid-season break, Galway Bay FM’s George McDonagh was joined on ‘Over The L...

Senior, Intermediate and Primary Junior Football Championship Draws Made for 2024

The Bon Secours Galway senior football club championship draw has been made, as well as the Peter Curran Electric Ltd intermediate championship and the OC...

Ballinasloe's Beibhinn Parsons Confirmed for Paris Olympics Along with Connacht Rugby Duo Andrew Smith and Chay Mullins

Ballinasloe’s Beibhinn Parsons has been selected on the Ireland women’s rugby sevens team for the Paris Olympics.  They’ll compete in the Stade de ...