5 October 2023

~2 minutes read

Galway’s Liam Nolan named on the Irish team for Eisenhower Trophy

Share story:
Galway’s Liam Nolan named on the Irish team for Eisenhower Trophy

Galway’s Walker Cup star Liam Nolan has been named on the Irish team for the Eisenhower Trophy, Amateur Golf’s World Amateur Men’s Team Championships in Abu Dhabi later this month.

Liam will be joined by fellow Walker Cup stars R&A Amateur Series winner Alex Maguire from Laytown & Bettystown and Matt McClean from Malone in the UAE.

The Irish have also selected a quality trio for the Espirito Santo Trophy.

Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle) continued her upward trajectory this summer and was the leading stroke play qualifier at the Women’s Amateur Championship. She will be backed by the AIG Irish Close champion Sara Byrne (Douglas) who recently won the low amateur at the KPMG Women’s Irish Open and US Women’s Open sensation, Áine Donegan (Lahinch).

The WATC was originally set for Dubai but they have moved to the National Course at the Abu Dhabi Golf Club with the Eisenhower Trophy taking place between 18 and 21 October and the Espirito Santo Trophy on the following week, 25 to 28 October.

Ireland’s most recent success in the championships came back in 2016 when the men’s team of Stuart Grehan, Jack Hume and Paul McBride finished tied third with Leona Maguire, Olivia Mehaffey and Annabel Wilson also teaming up for a bronze with the women that year.

Share story:

Galway Community Games Team event draws announced

The draws for the Galway Community Games Team events for 2024 have been announced. All preliminary round games in the bigger entries must be completed by ...

Bundee Aki named as Ireland Men's Players' Player of the Year

Connacht and Ireland’s Bundee Aki was last night named as the BDO Ireland Men’s XVs Players’ Players of the Year 2024 by his fellow players at the ...

Galway v Dublin Leinster Championship Preview - Henry Shefflin and Padraig Mannion speak to Galway Bay FM

This Sunday, Galway and Dublin meet in the last of the group games in the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship in Pearse Stadium (Throw in at 2pm). For bo...

Galway GAA Fixtures

Wed 22 May Division 2 Football League, Venue: Pairc an Chathnaigh, (Round 3), An Cheathrú Rua V Monivea-Abbey 19:45, Ref: Colm Conway U19 B Football Leag...