24 August 2023

~1 minutes read

Yvonne Comer elected first ever Woman President of Corinthians RFC

Share story:
Yvonne Comer elected first ever Woman President of Corinthians RFC

History was made last night at the AGM of Galway Corinthians with the announcement that Yvonne Comer was elected as President of the Club, the first woman to be elected president since the club was founded in 1932 and only the sixth in the history of Connacht Rugby to be president of a club in the province. The other five were Liz Brady in Westport, Deidre Whyte in Ballina, Jean McConnell in Sligo, Eleanor Grealish of OLBC who was president of the club in the 2008/09 Season and Geraldine Kelly of Ballinasloe who was president in 2012 and 2013.

Ann Heneghan served as president of the Connacht Branch from 2020 to 2022. The first ever woman to do so.

Yvonne takes over from Brian Murphy for the 2023/24 season and speaking to FYI Galway this afternoon, The new president of Corinthians said it was an honour and a privilege to be elected.

Share story:

Weekend Galway GAA Club Results

JFW Renewables Division 2 Hurling League Semi-Finals Liam Mellows 2-23 Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry 1-22 Tommy Larkins 3-22 Kilconieron 0-20 JFW Renewables Divisio...

Heartbreak for Maree/Oranmore in Connacht Cup Final - Report and Reaction

Maree/Oranmore’s dreams of a first Connacht Cup were dashed in Lecarrow yesterday when they lost 2-1 to Castlebar Celtic. The Maree/Oranmore goal came f...

Galway Senior Footballers Draw With Armagh - Commentary and Reaction

Galway will know their All-Ireland Senior Football Preliminary Quarter Final opponents around 8.30am tomorrow morning when the draw is held on Morning Ire...

Foster maintains her lead in Woodbrook

Anna Foster maintained her two stroke lead on Day Two of the Flogas Irish Women’s Amateur Open Championship at Woodbrook Golf Club. Foster carded a ...