11 October 2023

~2 minutes read

Tuam Stars and Claregalway meet in County Minor A football final

Share story:
Tuam Stars and Claregalway meet in County Minor A football final

This Saturday, Tuam Stars and Claregalway meet in the county Minor A football final at 4.30 pm in Tuam Stadium (Ref Colm Conway). It will be the third meeting of the two sides in this year’s championship as both competed in the North Board, with one win apiece. Tuam Stars are looking to bridge a gap back to 1983 for their last title, while Claregalway last won the title in 2021 and are appearing in their 7th final in the last 8 years. The game will be live on Galway Bay FM. Below also is a history of the 65 years of Minor A finals in Galway.


Claregalway and Tuam Stars’ path to the final:

Tuam Stars 3-17 Salthill Knocknacarra 3-5 (County Semi Final)

Tuam Stars 0-16 Claregalway 2-8 (North Final)

Tuam Stars 2-8 Corofin 0-5 (North Round 4)

Tuam Stars 0-11 Annaghdown 1-7 (North Round 3)

Tuam Stars 2-21 Dunmore MacHales 3-5 (North Round 2)

Tuam Stars 1-3 Claregalway 0-9 (North Round 1)


Claregalway 1-11 Oranmore Maree 0-13 (County Semi Final)

Claregalway 1-12 Maigh Cuilinn 1-3 (County Quarter Final)

Claregalway 2-8 Tuam Stars 0-16 (North Final)

Claregalway 0-9 Annaghdown 2-16 (North Round 4)

Claregalway 2-14 Dunmore MacHales 2-4 (North Round 3)

Claregalway 0-9 Tuam Stars 1-3 (North Round 2)

Claregalway 2-13 Corofin 3-8 (North Round 1)

Galway Minor ‘A’ Football Roll of Honour:

– Corofin: 14

– Salthill Knocknacarra: 12

– Tuam Stars: 11

– Dunmore MacHales: 7

– St Michael’s: 7

– Ballinasloe: 5

– Maigh Cuilinn: 3

– St James’: 3

– Erins Hopes: 3

– Claregalway: 2

– Micheal Breathnach: 2

– Mountbellew Moylough: 2

– Headford: 1

– Ballygar: 1

– St Augustine’s: 1

– Liam Mellows: 1

– Naomh Ciaran: 1

– Fr Griffins: 1

– Monivea/Abbey: 1

– Caherlistrane: 1

– Mervue: 1

– An Cheathrú Rua: 1

– Oranmore Maree: 1

Share story:

F1 with Darragh Canning of P1 Predict

Darragh Canning of P1 Predict gives his report on the Formula One Season at the Half way Stage....

Galway Intermediate Camogie Team beaten in All-Ireland Quarter Final - Commentary and Reaction

Galway’s hopes of reaching the All-Ireland Intermediate Camogie Semi-Final came to an end at Semple Stadium on Saturday afternoon when they were bea...

Connacht Cricket Union Preparing For historic first match on Wednesday

Wednesday next will be a historic day for the Connacht Cricket Union when they play their first competitive match at home to Munster at the home of County...

Connacht Community Games Team Finals Draws Announced

The Connacht Community Games Finals take place in Leitrim on Saturday the 20th.  Galway has 9 Team involved, U/11 Hurling – Clarinbridge U/14 Camogie �...