TG4’s Underdogs To Take On League Champions Mayo In Series Finale

New Underdogs Series Begins On TG4 Tonight at 9:30pm  

Two Galway Players Involved This Year…Mikie Lyons from Caltra and Patrick Ó Domhnaill from Oileann Arann.       


Ahead of tonight’s series premiere TG4 are proud to announce that the Underdogs will be taking-on one of the best Gaelic football teams in the Country at the end of the series; this year’s Allianz League Champions Mayo.

The match will be played under lights in Elverys MacHale Park in Castlebar, Co. Mayo on Saturday 26th October 2019 and TG4’s GAA Beo will provide live coverage on the night.

This year the Underdogs management team will have two new members joining former Cork Ladies Footballer Valerie Mulcahy. They are former Kerry All-Ireland winning Captain and Manager Mickey Ned O’Sullivan and Gaoth Dobhair legend and former Donegal Footballer Kevin Cassidy.

Over the next six dramatic weeks, the TG4 series will follow the players’ stories and personal journeys. Viewers will witness the months of preparation and intense training that it will take to transform a squad of Underdogs into a team of inter-county standard footballers.

The Underdogs is a unique group of players, from different GAA clubs all across the country. These footballers have never played at a senior intercounty championship level before.

James Horan, Mayo Manager said:  “We are looking forward to being involved in the Underdogs event this October. A really interesting game in McHale Park that will see many talented and ambitious players take to the field.”

The series is sponsored by Jonathan Hehir, Managing Director of says:  “ started as a small business but, applying the same spirit and hard work we’ll see from the Underdogs team has grown to be market leader in van insurance across Ireland”

The Underdogs Panel Is…

Aaron Duffy Round Towers Lusk GAA, Co. Dublin

Alan Daly Donard/Glen GFC, Co. Wicklow

Anthony Darmody Rathmore GAA, Co. Kerry

Anthony Hargan St Mary’s Ardmore, Co. Derry

Aron McKenna Madden Raperees GAC, Co. Armagh

Cathal McKenna St. Patrick’s Dromitee, Co. Armagh

Christopher Dineen Castlerea St Kevin’s GAA, Co Roscommon

Cillian Stynes St. Peregrines, Co. Dublin

Cormac Curtis Portarlington GAA, Co. Laois

Craig Reilly Trinity Gaels, Co. Dublin

Diarmuid O’ Hagan Éire Óg GAC Co. Armagh

Eoin Devine Newtownstewart St Eugenes GAA, Co. Tyrone

Eoin O’Sullivan Douglas GAA, Co. Cork

Fergal Owens Mayo Gaels, Co. Mayo

Fionn O’Leary Skerries Harps, Co. Dublin

Israel Ilunga Rosemount GAA, Co. Westmeath

Jamie Conlon St. Patricks Dromahair, Co. Leitrim

Jason Hickson Annascaul GAA, Co. Kerry

James Willis St Brigid’s Killashee, Co. Longfort

Jonathon O’Leary Dr. Crokes GAA, Co. Kerry

Kyle Fitzmaurice Ballymahon GAA, Co. Longfort

Leo Reilly Donaghmore Ashbourne, Co. Meath

Mark O’Kane  John Mitchel’s GAC Glenullin, Co. Derry

Mikie Lyons Caltra, Co. Galway

Mikie Lyons

Noel Leech St. Josephs, Co. Laois

Patrick Ó Domhnaill CLG Oileáin Árann, Co. Galway

Patrick Ó Domhnaill

Séamus Mac Giolla Bhríghde Na Gaeil Óga, Co. Dublin

Steafain Gallen Castlederg St Eugenes GAA, Co. Tyrone

Stephen Husband Summerhill GAA, Co. Meath

William Kerry Castledermot GAA, Co. Kildare

Underdogs starts tonight (Thursday 12th September) at 9:30pm and will be repeated on Sunday 15th September at 5:50pm after the TG4 All Ireland Ladies Football Finals.

The game will be broadcast live from Elverys MacHale Park on TG4’s GAA Beo on 26th October 2019

Tickets details for the game will be announced in the coming weeks

This series of the Underdogs is sponsored by

The Underdogs team gear is provided by O’Neills