Strong field confirmed for 2022 Corrib Oil Galway International Rally

Richard and James Whelan who were top Galway Motor Club crew on the last occasion the event ran in 2020.

Entries for the 2022 Corrib Oil Galway International Rally have passed the 140 mark and competitors are reminded to get an entry in to avoid disappointment. There is a strong interest across all the categories to datewith most classes well represented.

Among the leading contenders are those competing for the tarmac championship with Callum Devine, Meirion Evans, Declan Boyle and Cathan McCourt just some of those who have entered in the R5 category. Former Tarmac Champion and Galway winner Tim McNulty makes a welcome return to the stages in a RHD Ford Fiesta R5, with Garry Jennings also entered in a RHD Fiesta.

The national field is also shaping up well with Declan Gallagher, James Stafford, Chris Armstrong, Kevin Eves, Gary Kiernan, Damian Toner, Wesley Patterson and Daniel McKenna entering to date. The Historic category sees Duncan Williams, Neil Williams, Luke McCarthy & Andy Johnston ready to do battle on the stages.

Locally there is much interest with Richard Whelan & James Whelan looking to defend their Brian G Thornton trophy for best Galway crew. Tom Flaherty, who came so close to winning it in 2020, Dylan Donoghue, Justin Comer, Des Lyons, Tommy Cahill, John Coughlan, Pat Kelly, David Quigley, Paul McHugh and recent nominee for the Motorsport Ireland Rally Driver Academy, Aoife Raftery.

Its shaping up to be a cracking event in just over four weeks time!

The link to the online entry is