29 October 2023

~2 minutes read

St Thomas are crowned County Senior Hurling Champions for the sixth year in a row – Commentary and Reaction

Share story:
St Thomas are crowned County Senior Hurling Champions for the sixth year in a row – Commentary and Reaction

St Thomas are the County Senior Hurling Champions for the sixth year in a row following their 2-12 to 1-13 win over Turloughmore in Pearse Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

They became the first team since Turloughmore in the 1960’s to achieve this and Conor Cooney became the first man ever to be captain of all six winning teams.

Here is the commentary of the game with Niall Canavan, Cyril Farrell and Cyril Donnellan.

Match Commentator Niall Canavan with the Full Time Match Report.

St Thomas Captain Conor Cooney was handed the Tom Callinan Cup. Here is his speech.

After the presentation, Niall Canavan and Cyril Farrell were joined by members of the St Thomas team and management.

Finally, Niall Canavan was joined by Cyril Farrell and Cyril Donnellan to look back at the final and St Thomas achievement.

Scorers for St. Thomas’: Éanna Burke 2-2, Conor Cooney 0-3 (2fs), Darragh Burke 0-2, Victor Manso 0-2, Shane Cooney 0-2, Oisín Flannery 0-1.

Scorers for Turloughmore: Conor Walsh 0-7 (6fs), Sean O’Hanlon 0-3, Daithí Burke 1-0 (f), Jamie Holland 0-1, Matthew Tarpey 0-1, Cillian Whelan 0-1.

St. Thomas’: Gerald Kelly; Cian Mahony, Fintan Burke, David Sherry; John Headd, Shane Cooney, Cathal Burke; James Regan, Damien Finnerty; Evan Duggan, Conor Cooney, Darragh Burke; Victor Manso, Éanna Burke, Oisín Flannery.

Subs: Damien McGlynn for Manso (50), David Burke for Duggan (55), Bernard Burke for Darragh Burke (59), Conor Headd for Cathal Burke (60+1), Evan Brady for John Headd (60+5).

Turloughmore: Darragh Walsh; Dara Whelan, Ronan Burke, Mark Murphy; Vincent Doyle, Daithí Burke, Daniel Loftus; Sean Linnane, Tom Quirke; Sean O’Hanlon, Jamie Holland, Cillian Whelan; Conor Walsh, Brendan Phelan, Matthew Tarpey.

Subs: Sean Loftus for Phelan (46), Bríon Connolly for Tarpey (57), Conor Shaughnessy for Quirke (60+3), Michael Morris for Doyle (60+4).

Referee: Liam Gordon.

Share story:

Drogheda United 2-3 Galway United (Premier Division Commentary and Reaction with Maurice Nugent and John Caulfield)

Two injury-time goals from Maurice Nugent and Stephen Walsh gave Galway United a sensational victory in the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division on Frid...

Roscommon 3-5 Galway 0-7 (Connacht Minor Football Semi-Final Commentary and Reaction with Neil McHugh)

While their 2024 season isn’t over, Galway’s hopes of winning the Connacht or All-Ireland Minor A Football Championship ended in Tuam Stadium ...

Connacht vs Stormers (United Rugby Championship Preview with William Davies and John Muldoon)

Clifden’s Tiernan O’Halloran starts his final BKT United Rugby Championship home game for Connacht on Saturday (18th May 2024) against the DHL Stormer...

LIVE STREAM: Airtricity League Premier Division - Galway United v Drogheda

Join us for the live online stream of the Airtricity League Premier Division, Galway United v Drogheda. The action kicks off at 7.45 pm in Drogheda. Don&#...