7 November 2023

~3 minutes read

Six Galway Rowers Nominated For Rowing Ireland Awards

Share story:
Six Galway Rowers Nominated For Rowing Ireland Awards

Rowing Ireland has announced the shortlist for the 2023 Rowing Ireland awards that will take place in the Midlands Park Hotel Portlaoise.

An incredible six Galway rowers have made the shortlist. Siobhan McCrohan of Tribesmen has been nominated for Senior Female Rower of the Year, Catriona Mannion and Michael Hughes have been nominated for Volunteer of the Year, Aifric Keogh has been nominated for the Women in Sport Advocate Award and Peter Cassidy of Tribesmen and Stephen McGowan, and Deirdre O’Hara from Galway Rowing Club have been nominated for the Rowability Award.

The awards will be presented on the 18th of November.

Tickets for the event are available to purchase HERE

Club of the Year

  • University of Limerick Rowing Club
  • Rosscarbery Rowing Club
  • Castleconnell Boat Club

Coach of the Year

  • Saoirse Byrnes – Castleconnell Boat Club
  • Derek Holland – Enniskillen Royal Boat Club
  • Fergus Hannon – Athlone Boat Club

Up and Coming Rower of the Year

  • Joe Tanner – University of Limerick Rowing Club
  • Alison Bergin – Fermoy Rowing Club
  • Konan Pazzaia – Queens University Belfast Boat Club

Senior Male Rower of the Year

  • Nathan Timoney – Queens University Belfast Boat Club
  • Fintan McCarthy – Skibbereen Rowing Club
  • Ross Corrigan – Portora Boat Club

Senior Female Rower of the Year

  • Zoe Hyde – Killorglin Rowing Club
  • Siobhán McCrohan – Tribesmen Rowing Club

Junior Male Rower of the Year

  • Shane Rafferty – St Michael’s Rowing Club
  • Martin Siltanen – St Joseph’s Rowing Club
  • Eoghan Hinchy – St Michael’s Rowing Club

Junior Female Rower of the Year

  • Holly Davis – Lee Valley Rowing Club
  • Annick Frohburg – Castleconnell Boat Club
  • Ella Clarke – Sligo Rowing Club
  • Méabh McNamara – Donegal Bay Rowing Club

Umpire of the Year

  • Andrew Tubman – Belfast Rowing Club
  • Kayla McCann – St Michael’s Rowing Club
  • John McCarthy – Cork Boat Club

Volunteer of the Year

  • Bernie O’Leary – Edermine Ferry Rowing Club
  • Caitríona Mannion – Galway RC/St Josephs RC
  • Brian Richardson – St Michaels Rowing Club
  • Gabriel Cox – Carrick on Shannon Rowing Club
  • Paul Gallen – Athlone Boat Club
  • Joe Gleeson – Castleconnell Boat Club
  • Michael R Hughes – Galway RC
  • Michelle McDonagh – Shannon Rowing Club
  • Gordon Reid – Lagan Scullers Club
  • October Volunteer of the Month TBD (Nominations open HERE)

Women in Sport Advocate

  • Aifric Keogh – Dublin University Ladies Boat Club
  • Eithne Tiernan – Shandon Boat Club
  • Eva Breheny Clarke – University College Dublin Ladies Boat Club

Rowability Award of the Year

  • Peter Cassidy – Tribesmen Rowing Club
  • Steven McGowan – Galway Rowing Club
  • Deirdre O’Hara – Galway Rowing Club

Share story:

Galway v Dublin Camogie Championship Preview - The Manager's Thoughts

The Galway Camogie team face Dublin in their opening game of the Glen Dimplex All-Ireland Senior Championship on Saturday. Galway has five games in the gr...

Women's Four book their tickets to Paris 2024

Another boat from Ireland is secured for the 2024 Paris Olympic Games as the Final Olympic Qualification Regatta comes to a close in Lucerne, Switzerland....

Galway golfers target victory at Irish Senior Men's Open in Moyvalley

Joe Lyons (Galway) has already tasted individual success this season with victory at the Spanish Senior Men’s Championship but the Banagher man is hopin...

Galway Tribesmen begin Rugby League campaign with victory

The Galway Tribesmen got their 2024 Rugby league Ireland campaign up and running with a convincing win over the Cork Bulls 42-6 last Saturday at Douglas R...