24 May 2024

~3 minutes read

Salerno capture FAI Schools First Year Girls Cup

Share story:
Salerno capture FAI Schools First Year Girls Cup

Salerno Secondary School, Salthill 2-1 St. Mary’s Secondary School, New Ross

Ana Conway (8), Orna Dunne (15)                                                                                Ava Wilson (23)


SALERNO SECONDARY SCHOOL, SALTHILL were crowned FAI Schools First Year Girls National Cup Champions in Leah Victoria Park, Tullamore Town FC on Wednesday afternoon (May 22).

The Galway crew hung onto their first half lead to capture the title after an epic battle with St. Mary’s from New Ross. 

The talented Ana CONWAY converted a delightful free kick from the edge of the box into the top corner after just eight minutes to give the Connacht stars the lead.

Salerno doubled their tally on the quarter hour as Orna DUNNE finished off a smart run through the centre of the Wexford defence to slot past Myler.

However, St. Mary’s did responded two minutes from the break to grab a vital goal with Ava WILSON striking the ball beautifully to see past Heinz Ward to make it 1-2 at the interval.

New Ross keeper Abbie Myler pulled off a brilliant save to deny the troublesome Tilly Carroll two minutes into the second period.

New Ross captain Dearbhla Ryan and Molly Molly had chances midway through the half to equalise but Roisin Heinz Ward was equal to the challenge.

While ten minutes from time, Ana Conway drilled the ball on target only for Myler to get fingertips to it to see it out

Again it was Salerno who could have extended their lead five minutes from time when Tilly Carroll rounded the keeper but she missed the open goal as the ball dragged wide of the far post.

A highly entertaining encounter in the Offaly venue which saw Salerno manage the game well in periods of high pressure.

As Cup Champions, the Salthill contingency have the opportunity to represent the Republic of Ireland at the SAFIB Rod Houston Cup which will take place from September 16 to 18 in Lillieshall National Sports Centre. Schools from Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales and England alongside the Republic of Ireland representatives will play against each other over the three days.

Last year’s Cup winners, Presentation College, Athenry participated in the tournament and won the prestigious trophy so it will be interesting to see if another Galway side can emulate such success.


SALERNO SECONDARY SCHOOL, SALTHILL | Roisín Heinz Ward, Ava Costello, Anna Murphy, Avarose O’Gorman, Niamh McGauran, Ciara Coyle ©, Tilly Carroll, Orna Dunne, Grace Coyle ©, Ana Conway, Emily Jean Killeen

SUBS ROLL ON / OFF | Rachel O’Grady, Emily Watson, Danielle Early, Amy McCallig, Eabha Sheehan, Amber O’Leary, Elizabeth Mannion

EXTENDED SQUAD | Alannah Joyce, Lucy O’Connor

TEACHER | Conor Quinlivan COACH | Conor Killeen, Abbie Killeen

ST. MARY’S SECONDARY SCHOOL NEW ROSS | Abbie Myler, Katie McGovern, Orla Fitzpatrick, Emer Nolan, Ciara Murphy, Niamh O’Brien, Rosanna Doyle, Dearbhla Ryan ©, Sarah O’Leary, Demi Murphy, Molly Ryan

SUBS ROLL ON / OFF | Cara Foley,  Grace Gregg, Zoe Byrne, Anna O’Carroll, Aoibhinn Carroll, Emma Fitzharris, Ava Wilson

EXTENDED SQUAD | Casey Codd, Ruby Smith, Holly Hudson, Hannah Sidney, Caroline Murphy, Anna Murphy, Niamh Cowman, Aoibhinn Ryan, Leah Reville

TEACHERS | Aaron Price, Nigel Fitzharris


MATCH OFFICIAL | David Byrant (Tullamore)

Share story:

Connacht FA Cup Final Preview - Maree-Oranmore determined to make history

This Sunday, the curtain falls on the Connacht Soccer Season, with the final of the Connacht FA Junior Cup in Lecarrow. Maree/Oranmore, appearing in their...

Cumann na mBunscol Hurling Finals take place tomorrow

The Curtain will fall on the Cumann na mBunscol GAA Season with the Hurling Finals tomorrow. Due to the unavailability of Loughgeorge, the Camogie Finals ...

Galway vs Tipperary (All-Ireland Minor Hurling Semi-Final Preview with Kenneth Burke)

Galway take on Tipperary this Saturday (15th June 2024) in the All-Ireland minor hurling semi-final, looking to make the decider for the 36th time. The Tr...

Cork vs Galway (All-Ireland Senior Ladies Football Championship Preview with Daniel Moynihan)

Galway make their start in the TG4 All-Ireland senior ladies football championship on Saturday (15th June 2024) when they travel to Cork. The Rebelettes h...