8 May 2023

~4 minutes read

Mixed Success For University of Galway in Irish Hockey Finals

Share story:
Mixed Success For University of Galway in Irish Hockey Finals

There was mixed luck for The University of Galway’s two Hockey teams at the weekend with success for their first team in the Irish Hockey Women’s Trophy Final and defeat for their second team in the Irish Hockey Challenge Final.



The Irish Women’s Hockey Trophy decider went all the way to a shoot out before a winner could be decided. It was a scoreless first quarter which saw Honour Davison green carded for Omagh in the 14th minute. In a goalless second quarter, Emma Fulton was green carded for Omagh in the 28th minute.

It was also a scoreless third quarter, where Gemma Buchanan of Omagh collected a green card in the 58th minute and in the goalless fourth quarter, Hannah Kelly of University of Galway was green carded in the 64th minute and Katharine McDowell of Omagh was green carded in the 68th minute.

So after 70 minutes of hockey, it was down to penalties to decide the destination of this final piece of silverware from a hectic weekend. Ailbhe Folan took the first penalty for the University of Galway and scored. Katie McDonnell missed the first one for Omagh 1-0. Hannah Kelly scored the second one for the University of Galway 2-0. Amy McCollum missed the second one for Omagh 2-0 to the University of Galway.

Ciara Dunne put University of Galway 3-0 up with their third penalty. Honour Davison got Omagh on the scoresheet when she converted Omagh’s third penalty to leave it 3-1.

Jenny Buttimer stepped to take University of Galway’s fourth penalty and made no mistake, and it finished 4-1 to the students of University of Galway in the shoot out and the Irish Women’s Hockey Trophy is heading west of the Shannon.

UNIVERSITY OF GALWAY: Anna O’Donoghue, Ailbhe Folan (captain), Emma Dillon, Aoife Quinn, Jenny Buttimer, Ciara Dunne, Ellie Hughes, Jess Dwyer-Matthews, Hannah Kelly, Megan Clinton, Ciara Burke, Aisling McGrath, Emily Duane (GK), Ailil Dorman, Aoife Roche.

OMAGH: Alison Long, Holly Swann, Emma Fulton, Emma Buchanan, Heather Moffitt, Gemma Buchanan, Lyndsey McCay, Cari McKinley, Honour Davison, Sophie Smyth, Lisa Barr, Laura White [captain], Rachel Buchanan, Katie McDowell, Katie Ballantine, Hollie Berrabah, Amy McCollum



At the start of this game, there were a number of possible outcomes. One would have seen University Of Galway win this competition and then add the Irish Hockey Trophy to secure a unique double on the day for the Women’s part of the student Hockey Club. However, there was another possible scenario which is actually how things transpired and that was Portrane won the Irish Women’s Hockey Challenge Trophy and brought it back to North County Dublin.

In the first quarter Portrane struck in the 11th minute when Sarah Jane Kelly converted a penalty corner. Sarah Jane Kelly was also green carded in the 25th minute temporarily reducing her team to 10 players. The second quarter was scoreless and the Dubliners led 1-0 at half time.

The second half got underway and shortly into the third quarter Portrane increased their lead when captain Hannah Moynihan scored from open play to make it 2-0. She added another goal, her second of the game four minutes later to leave Portrane leading 3-0 with almost half an hour left to play.

The University of Galway responded within a minute through Ailill Dorman’s goal from open play in the 42nd minute. Portrane’s Nadine Patterson was yellow carded on 57 minutes. Jenny Buttimer of University of Galway was similarly penalised on 64 minutes and Isobel Farell of Portrane got the third yellow of the game and missed the end of the match on 66 minutes.

The final score was Portrane 3 University of Galway 1 and the Cup is on its way to North County Dublin.

PORTRANE: Neasa Bissett, Jenny Farrell, Nadine Patterson, Sarah Jane Kelly, Hannah Moynihan [captain], Sarah Dowling, Sarah Keon, Ruth Basson, Hailey Clark, Isobel Farrell, Eva Van Dreumel, Mieke Van Dreumel, Caoimhe McCann, Katie Lloyd, Emma Walsh.

UNIVERSITY OF GALWAY: Ellen Duffy, Aoife Roche, Eimear McCallon, Eabha Durkan, Eimear Walsh, Eva O’Donnell, Jenny Buttimer, Aisling McGrath, Aoife Murphy [captain], Ailill Dorman, Katie Osborne, Chloe Lawlor, Anna Gavin, Ciara Murphy, Florence McDonald, Mia Walsh, Orla Bagnall

Share story:

Galway GAA Fixtures - UPDATED

Wed 27 Sep Under 12 Roinn 2 Cup, Venue: New Inn, (Quarter Final 1), Sarsfields V Mullagh/Kiltormer 18:30, Ref: David Cunningham   Thu 28 Sep Senior F...

Galway Cyclist breaks Mizen to Malin record

Karen Cassidy of Galway Tri Club and the Galway Baybes completed the 568km journey from Mizen Head to Malin in less than 24 hours on Monday and Tuesday. T...

Galway Athletics Report

Galway Cross Country Championships The first day of the Galway Cross Country championships for 2023 was held at Galway Racecourse in Ballybrit last Saturd...

IRFU, GAA and FAI unite to launch "Respect Our Games" initiative

Individuals who have a positive experience of sport can, and often do, remain within the game throughout their lives. Respect for players, officials and v...