15 December 2023

~2 minutes read

Jack Carty to Make 200th Connacht Rugby Appearance in European Champions Cup Trip to Saracens

Share story:
Jack Carty to Make 200th Connacht Rugby Appearance in European Champions Cup Trip to Saracens

Connacht captain Jack Carty will make his 200th appearance for the province in tomorrow’s (Saturday, 16th December) Investec European Rugby Champions Cup trip to Saracens.

The Roscommon native made his debut in September 2012 and became club captain last year, while he is also the club’s all-time record points scorer. He will now become the sixth player to reach the 200 cap milestone for the province, after John Muldoon, Michael Swift, Denis Buckley, Kieran Marmion and Tiernan O’Halloran.

Gavin Thornbury also returns exactly one year since a serious knee injury against Brive.  And Shayne Bolton makes his first appearance this year.

Also coming into the starting 15 from last weekend are props Jordan Duggan and Jack Aungier, flanker Conor Oliver, number 8 Paul Boyle, centre Tom Farrell and full-back John Porch.

Connacht assistant attack coach Mark Sexton has been chatting to Galway Bay FM’s William Davies.

The team in full:

John Porch at full back;

Byron Ralston, Tom Farrell, Bundee Aki and Shayne Bolton are the three quarters;

Out half Jack Carty partners scrum half Caolin Blade;

Jordan Duggan, Dave Heffernan and Jack Aungier are the front row;

Darragh Murray and Gavin Thornbury are behind them;

And a back row of Cian Prendergast, Conor Oliver and Paul Boyle.

Kick-off at the StoneX Stadium tomorrow is 1pm and we’ll have LIVE coverage here on Galway Bay FM.


13:00, Saturday 16th December 2023 @ StoneX Stadium

15. John Porch (183)
14. Byron Ralston (23)
13. Tom Farrell (103)
12. Bundee Aki (128)
11. Shayne Bolton (5)
10. Jack Carty (199) (C)
9. Caolin Blade (178)
1. Jordan Duggan (42)
2. Dave Heffernan (185)
3. Jack Aungier (56)
4. Darragh Murray (15)
5. Gavin Thornbury (71)
6. Cian Prendergast (54)
7. Conor Oliver (70)
8. Paul Boyle (86)

16. Dylan Tierney-Martin (30)
17. Denis Buckley (235)
18. Finlay Bealham (193)
19. Joe Joyce (7)
20. Jarrad Butler (118)
21. Michael McDonald (1)
22. JJ Hanrahan (7)
23. Diarmuid Kilgallen (21)

Share story:

Michael Maloney and George McDonagh on 'Over The Line' Chat about Preparation for the Galway Races

Galway Racecourse CEO Michael Maloney joined Galway Bay FM’s George McDonagh on Monday’s (17th June 2024) ‘Over The Line’ to chat ...

Galway United Half-Season Review on 'Over The Line' with George McDonagh, Cian O'Connell and Ollie Neary

With the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division currently taking a mid-season break, Galway Bay FM’s George McDonagh was joined on ‘Over The L...

Senior, Intermediate and Primary Junior Football Championship Draws Made for 2024

The Bon Secours Galway senior football club championship draw has been made, as well as the Peter Curran Electric Ltd intermediate championship and the OC...

Ballinasloe's Beibhinn Parsons Confirmed for Paris Olympics Along with Connacht Rugby Duo Andrew Smith and Chay Mullins

Ballinasloe’s Beibhinn Parsons has been selected on the Ireland women’s rugby sevens team for the Paris Olympics.  They’ll compete in the Stade de ...