Interprovincial Wheelchair Hurling Event In Castlebar on Saturday Next.

Launch of the first ever International Wheelchair Hurling squad in Croke Park. Front (L-R): Munster’s James McCarthy Vice-captain and Connacht’s Pat Carty who was appointed Captain. Back (L-R): Denis O’Boyle, (Mayo) Connacht GAA Representative and National Vice Chairperson and Connacht GAA Representative on the National GAA Games for All Committee, Thaigh Morley, (Mayo) Assistant Team Coach, John Horan, GAA President, Martin Donnelly, Sponsor, Mattie Kilroy, Chairman Connacht GAA Health and Wellbeing and Games for All Committee, Edel Carty, Colin Regan, GAA Community & Health Manager Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile

On Saturday next the 24th August, the third round of the 2019 M Donnelly Interprovincial Wheelchair Hurling League will take place in the Joe Langan Sports Hall In Davitt College, Castlebar. This event involves teams of six players from each the four provinces playing each other from 10.30 am to 3.00pm.

The Chairperson of the Connacht GAA Games for All and Health and Wellbeing Committee expressed his sincere gratitude to Bernie Rowland, Principal of Davit College Castlebar for providing her schools wonderful facility, the Joe Langan Sports Hall, for this event to take place. He also thanked Mayo GAA Board, who are hosting this event in the county for the second time since 2014, in conjunction with Connacht GAA.

The Connacht GAA Wheelchair Hurling panel includes Liam O’Boyle (Knockmore, Mayo), Peter Egan (Kilmovee, Mayo), Tom Fleming (Charlestown, Mayo),  Pat Carty, (Tourlestrane, Sligo), Aidan Hynes (Calry, Sligo), Stephen Melvin, (Owenmore Gaels, Sligo), Sarah Cregg (Western Gaels, Roscommon) and Shane Curran (Moycullen, Galway).

The Connacht Wheelchair Hurling team Manager and Coaches are Adrian Hession (Mayo) Team Manager, Thaigh Morley, (Mayo) Team Coach and Tim Hynes, (Sligo) Team Coach.

This will be the first time that all the players from the four provinces have come together since a 12-man panel was made up of three Wheelchair All-Star Hurlers from each of the four provinces. These 12 players attended the 2019 European Para Games Floorball International event which took place in the city of Breda in the Netherlands. Connacht GAA was represented at this event by Captain of the team, Pat Carty, Stephen Melvin, Aidan Hynes all from Co. Sligo. Two Mayomen were also part of this first International Wheelchair Hurling/Floorball International travelling party, namely Claremorris man Denis O’Boyle, who is the National Vice Chairperson and Connacht GAA Representative on the National GAA Games for All Committee, and Ballyhaunis native Thaigh Morley who was Assistant Coach to the International Wheelchair Hurling team.