8 January 2024

~4 minutes read

HerSport Awards take place on the 27th of January

Share story:
HerSport Awards take place on the 27th of January

The Her Sport Awards are back to celebrate and recognise the magnificent achievements of our sports stars, as well as the community volunteers and behind-the-scenes heroes that make the sports we love possible.

2023 was an unforgettable year in Irish sport. There were World Championship highs, athlete comebacks, a World Cup to remember and not to mention Olympic and Paralympic qualifications.

Irish sportswomen have captivated across the board with outstanding performances, brilliance on and off the playing field, some rising from the ashes and defying all odds.

The Her Sport Awards celebrate these inspirational Irish women in sport, in what has been a momentous year!

We intend to recognise all of these achievements by celebrating the following awards:

Athlete of the Year powered by Braeburn Coffee exclusively available at Applegreen

Young Athlete of the Year sponsored by WHOOP

Team of the Year sponsored by Sky

Community Award sponsored by Energia

Personality Of The Year Award sponsored by AYA

Hall of Fame Award

This year we have added a brand new category, the Personality Of The Year Award sponsored by AYA, which recognises athletes who demonstrate inspiration, determination and/or resilience.

This person will have inspired beyond the sporting arena, achieved despite the odds, and can be acknowledged in a personal and/or sporting capacity

Voting for this year’s awards is open to the public until Sunday the 19th of January. You can vote by going to our website at awards.hersport.ie.

We also invite all our community to attend the live show in University College Dublin, Astra Hall on Saturday, January 27th with doors opening at 6.15pm with the ceremony kicking off at 6.50pm!

Tickets can be bought on our website here.

We promise an inspiring night full of like-minded people recognising the amazing calibre of athletes we have here in Ireland as well as interesting panel discussions and an amazing goodie bag!

This year there will be a raffle on the night with some great prizes to be won! The raffle will fund workshops for schools that are unable to afford them, empowering students to create a cultural change and level the playing field in sport. If you can’t make the event but want to enter the raffle get in touch with Her Sport and they will help arrange pre-purchase of tickets.

The show will air on TG4, with details on this to follow so keep an eye on our social channels for more on this!

The nominees for each award category are listed as follows:

HerSport Athlete of the Year powered by Braeburn Coffee exclusively available at Applegreen
Amy O’Connor
Ciara Mageean
Ellen Keane
Katie McCabe
Katie Taylor
Leona Maguire
Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh
Lucy Mulhall
Siobhan McCrohan
Thammy Nguyen

Young Athlete Of The Year* by WHOOP
* Young Athlete of the Year Nominees include athletes under 23 years old for
the duration of 2023
Abbie Larkin
Ellen Casey
Ellen Walshe
Eve McMahon
Jodie Browne
Lara Gillespie
Orla Prendergast
Rhasidat Adeleke
Róisín Ní Ríain
Sophie O’Sullivan

Team Of The Year sponsored by Sky
4x400M Mixed Relay (Sharlene Mawdsley, Sophie Becker, Chris O’Donnell, Jack
Basketball Ireland U18’s
Cork Camogie
Dublin Ladies Football
Irish Darts
Irish Paracycling Tandem Bike (Katie-George Dunlevy & Linda Kelly)
Irish Rowing Double (Alison Bergin & Zoe Hyde)
Irish Rugby Seven’s
Irish Soccer
Kilkerrin-Clonberne Ladies Football

Personality Of The Year sponsored by AYA
Amelia McFarland
Annalise Murphy
Fionnuala McCormack
Hannah Tyrell
Mary Hickey-Nolan
Nicci Daly
Ruesha Littlejohn
Sarah Lavin
Shauna Bannon
Siofra Lawless

Community Award sponsored by Energia
The Her Sport Community Award sponsored by Energia, celebrates individuals who’ve had a significant sporting impact on their community. Together with Energia, we recognise the importance of the people in sport from grassroots to high-performance level, with many incredible volunteers, supporters and individuals building the fantastic Irish sporting community.

Nominations can be made at awards.hersport.ie and the winner will be announced on the night.

To find out more about the HerSport Awards please visit awards.hersport.ie and keep up to date with the latest on our social channels- Instagram, YouTube, Twitter, LinkedIn, Facebook and Tik Tok.

Share story:

Athenry wins Back To Back All-Ireland Feile Rounders Titles - The Reaction

Athenry Rounders Club made history on Sunday in winning the All-Ireland Feile Title in Wexford. Their win over Glynnbarnstown made it back to back All-Ire...

Oranmore/Maree wins All-Ireland Division One Hurling Feile - The Reaction

Oranmore/Maree produced a final performance for the ages in beating Midelton to win Feile’s Christy Ring Cup on Saturday. Their 1-7 to 1-5 win ended...

Craughwell Wins All-Ireland Camogie Feile - The Reaction

There was a big celebration in Craughwell on Saturday Night when their Feile Team came home with the All-Ireland Title following a thrilling Regional Fina...

Galway Senior Ladies Footballers book place in All-Ireland Quarter Final - Commentary and Reaction

Galway are through to the TG4 All-Ireland SFC quarter-finals following this comfortable victory over Laois in Duggan Park, Ballinasloe. Olivia Divilly and...