5 July 2024

~3 minutes read

Galway vs Dublin (All-Ireland Senior Ladies Football Quarter-Final Preview with Daniel Moynihan)

Share story:
Galway vs Dublin (All-Ireland Senior Ladies Football Quarter-Final Preview with Daniel Moynihan)

Galway travel to Dublin this Saturday (6th July 2024) in the TG4 All-Ireland senior ladies football championship quarter-final.

It’s their first meeting since the 2019 final in front of a record crowd of 56,114 in Croke Park with Dublin won a low-scoring wet contest by 2-3 to 0-4.

The last time the Tribeswomen prevailed against the Metropolitians was the 2005 semi-final when Niamh Fahey struck two goals on their way to a 2-10 to 0-7 win.

Leading up to the game, Galway senior manager Daniel Moynihan has been chatting to Galway Bay FM’s Darren Kelly on ‘Over The Line.’

Throw-in at Parnell Park on Saturday is 7.30pm and we’ll have LIVE coverage here on Galway Bay FM.

The ‘Over The Line’ weekend preview show with Darren Kelly broadcasts every Friday evening from 7pm on Galway Bay FM.


Dublin v Galway; Parnell Park, 7.30pm 
Champions Dublin continue their quest for back-to-back All-Ireland Senior titles with a home outing against Galway at Parnell Park.
With captain Carla Rowe in superb form, the Dubs built on their Leinster title win by cruising through the group stages with victories over Mayo and Kildare.
Galway, meanwhile, recovered from defeat to Cork to see off Laois and book a spot in the knockout stages.
Galway fell at the quarter-final stage last year against Connacht rivals Mayo and they’ll need a huge performance to dethrone the Brendan Martin Cup holders.
But Galway do have Olivia Divilly in sparkling form and with a haul of 3-11 to date, she’s tied at the top of the top scorers’ rankings in the Senior championship alongside Rowe, who has collected 4-8.
Galway have made four changes from the team that accounted for Laois, with goalkeeper Dearbhla Gower coming in for Leah O’Halloran, while Aoife Ni Cheallaigh, Charlotte Cooney and Roisin Leonard are all recalled, as Caoimhe Cleary, Éahba O’Riordan and Ailish Morrissey drop to the bench.
Dublin’s starting line-up shows just the one change, with Ellen Gribben replacing Orlagh Nolan following the Kildare win.
Dublin: A Shiels; N Donlon, L Caffrey, N Crowley; S Goldrick, M Byrne, L Magee; J Dunne, O Carey; C O’Connor, C Rowe (capt.), E Gribben; H Tyrrell, N Hetherton, N Owens.
Galway: D Gower; M Jordan, S Ní Loingsigh, K Geraghty; A Ni Cheallaigh, N Ward, C Cooney; M Glynn, A Davoren (capt.); O Divilly, L Ward, N Divilly; E Reaney, L Coen, R Leonard.

Share story:

Galway Bay FM's Hurling Chat - All-Ireland Final Special

Who will win the All Ireland? Clare or Cork? This week on Hurling Chat Cyril Donnellan, Niall Canavan and Sean Walsh are joined by former Clare coach Sean...

Galway vs Limerick (All-Ireland under-16 Camogie Final Preview with Sharon Glynn)

Just six days after surprising Cork away, Galway’s under-16 camogie team are back in an All-Ireland Final this Saturday (20th July 2024) when they t...

Connacht U18 Women's Interprovincial Squad Named

The Connacht U18 Women’s Squad, sponsored by ATU, has now been announced for the 2024 Interprovincial season. After an incredibly successful U18 Int...

Galway United vs Longford Town (FAI Cup Preview with Greg Cunningham and John Caulfield)

Galway United host Longford Town this Friday (18th July 2024) as they beging their Sports Direct FAI Cup men’s campaign, entering at Round 2. The Tr...