10 November 2023

~1 minutes read

Galway to Begin Walsh Hurling Cup Defence against Laois and Offaly

Share story:
Galway to Begin Walsh Hurling Cup Defence against Laois and Offaly

Defending champions Galway have been paired with Laois and Offaly in the group stages of the 2024 Walsh Cup.

Henry Shefflin’s side face the losers of the Round 1 tie between their two opponents on January 7th, before taking on the winners seven days later.

The Tribesmen beat Wexford 0-23 to 0-15 in last year’s final at Chadwicks Wexford Park, a game that doubled up with their National Hurling League Fixture.

The final is scheduled for Sunday, 28th January.


Walsh Cup

Group 1

Carlow, Kilkenny, Wexford

Group 2

Antrim, Westmeath, Dublin

Group 3

Offaly, Laois, Galway

Round 1

Thursday, January 4

Dublin v Westmeath, Parnell Park
Laois v Offaly, Laois Hire O’Moore Park

Round 2

Sunday, January 7

Carlow v Kilkenny, Netwatch Cullen Park
Losers Dublin/Westmeath v Antrim, TEG Cusack Park/Parnell Park
Losers Laois/Offaly v Galway, Ballinsloe/Tullamore

Round 3

Sunday, January 14

Wexford v Losers Carlow/Kilkenny Chadwicks Wexford Park/Nowlan Park
Antrim v Winners Dublin/Westmeath TEG Cusack Park/Parnell Park
Galway v Winners Laois/Offaly Ballinsloe/Tullamore


Sunday, January 21

Winners Carlow/Kilkenny v Wexford Chadwicks Wexford Park/Nowlan Park
Winners Group 2 v Winners Group 3 TBC


January 28

Share story:

Galway Olympic Swimmer going for Gold in Paris

There is a very strong Galway connection to one of the Irish Olympic team representing us in the pool in Paris. Tom Fannon may have been born in Birmingha...

Last Minute Heartbreak for Galway U16 Camogie Team in All-Ireland Final - Report and Reaction

A point from Rachel O’Grady in the second minute of stoppage time denied Galway All-Ireland U16 Camogie Championship glory in Nowlan Park on Saturday ev...

Galway Ladies Footballers Book Place In All-Ireland Senior Final - Commentary and Reaction

Galway’s Senior Ladies Footballers are through to the TG4 All-Ireland Final following a thrilling win over Cork in O’Connor Park, Tullamore on...

Connacht Cricket plays first Interprovincial since 1891 - A Galway Bay FM Feature

For the first time since 1891, Connacht played an interprovincial cricket match with a Munster XI visiting the Lydican in Claregalway last Wednesday. This...