8 May 2023

~2 minutes read

Galway owners & trainers take honours at National Greyhound Racing Awards

Share story:
Galway owners & trainers take honours at National Greyhound Racing Awards

There were accolades for two Galway Dogs and their owners at the National Greyhound Racing awards held at Curraheen Park on Friday evening.

Raha Mofo, owned by Marissa Molloy in Oughterard was named bitch of the year and Crafty Kokoro, owned by Noelle and Brian Divilly in Claregalway was named stayer of the year.

Born Warrior and Tipperary Trainer Jennifer O’Donnell were the big winners at the National Greyhound Awards at Curraheen Park on Friday evening as the former was named Dog of the Year and Supreme Greyhound of the Year.

For O’Donnell it really was a special night. Aside from Born Warrior, her wonderful brood Mountaylor Queen was also named Brood Bitch of the Year. 

The first canine award handed out went to the aforementioned Mountaylor Queen for Brood Bitch of the year, while it was no surprise to anyone to see Droopys Sydney named Stud Dog of the Year moments later.

Keeley McGee was on hand to accept the trophy after Gizmo Cash was named Sprinter of the Year, while Kevin O’Brien was also delighted as Clona Duke handed him more silverware.

Just days after capturing the Select Stakes, Clona Duke was named as the Future Star award winner.

Sheila Spillane of Killeahg, Co. Cork was on hand to accept her Hall of Fame award, while Jimmy Maguire of Portlaw, Co. Waterford was a delighted figure when receiving his Special Merit award.

The welfare awards went across the seas to Lisa Dail and Janet Diehl. Both are based in Florida.

Bitch of the Year Raha Mofo
Stayer of the Year Crafty Kokoro

Share story:

Galway Senior Hurling Captain looking forward to Saturday's Family Fun Day for Hand in Hand

This Saturday will see the Galway Hurlers team up with Loughrea based charity Hand in Hand for a special fundraiser. The hurlers will be hosting a Family ...

All-Ireland PPS Senior B Hurling Preview - Portumna Community School face St Killians Antrim in Semi-Final

This Saturday afternoon, Portumna Community School will make the long journey to Dowdallshill in Louth to take on Ulster Champions St Killians in the Semi...

Galway Minor A Football Championship draws made

The draws were made last night for the Galway Minor A (U17) Football Championship. The 8 participating teams play seven round-robin games before the top 4...

Galway Hurling League fixtures announced

The Galway hurling leagues start on the opening weekend of April, with five rounds of matches scheduled throughout April, May and the first weekend in Jun...