Galway Minor Hurlers Out To Create History This Sunday

The Galway Minor Hurlers will on Sunday bid to become only the fourth county in the history of the GAA to win three All-Ireland Minor Hurling Titles in a row when they face Kilkenny in the final in Croke Park (Throw In – 1pm).

Since the All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship began in 1928, only three counties have achieved this feat. Cork and Tipperary have done it twice. Cork from 1937-1939 and from 1969-1971 (The last time it was achieved). Tipperary did it from 1932-1934 and from 1955-1957.

The third county to do it was Kilkenny who did it from 1960-1962.

What is more unique about Galway is that if they achieve this three in a row, it will be the first time that anyone has done it under two different age categories. U18 in 2017 and U17 in 2018 and 2019.

The Galway team have been training hard since their nine point Semi-Final win over Wexford on the 28th of July.

Niall Canavan first spoke to Galway manager Brian Hanley.

Niall then spoke to Galway Coach Fergal Healy

Finally, Niall spoke to Galway Captain Ian McGlynn

Quarter-Final Rounds 1 to 3

Round 2    

Galway 3-16 Kilkenny 2-16

Round 3    

Galway 1-24 Clare 1-22

All-Ireland Semi-final

Galway 0-20 Wexford 0-11


18 August 2019  

Kilkenny v Galway – Croke Park, Dublin – 1pm