Galway GAA Club Teams of the 80s next Monday night

Galway Bay FM will announce their selection of the Galway club hurling and football teams of the ’80s next Monday night on Over the Line between 8pm and 10pm. The selection committee have looked over all of the results of the decade, since the group stages of the Senior Hurling Championship were introduced in 1980 and the football championship in 1985, and will announce a team of 15 hurlers and footballers, as well as an extended panel of players who came very close to making the final team. 8 different clubs won Senior Hurling Championship titles in the ’80s, Sarsfields (’80,’89), Gort (’81,’83), Kiltormer(’82), Castlegar (’84), Turloughmore (’85), Killimordaly (’86), Athenry (’87) and Abbeyknockmoy (’88), so a big spread of clubs on the final team seems inevitable.

In Football there were six different winners: Ballinasloe (St Grellans) completed back to back titles in 1980, Milltown won their second title in 1981, Annaghdown won 3 titles in 1982, ’85 and ’87, Dunmore MacHales won in ’83, Tuam Stars won 3 titles in ’84, ’88 and ’89, while Mountbellew claimed the senior football championship in 1986.