3 May 2024

~2 minutes read

Galway and Mayo teams named for Connacht Final

Share story:
Galway and Mayo teams named for Connacht Final

Galway senior football manager Padraig Joyce has made two changes for Sunday’s Connacht final against Mayo from the side that beat Sligo in the semi-final. Damien Comer and John Maher come into the forward line in place of Jack McCabe and Liam O’Conghaile, with Matthew Tierney returning to the matchday squad for the first time since February when he went off with a leg muscle injury sustained in kicking a free against Tyrone in Omagh. Cillian McDaid is not listed among the 26 players named this morning.

Mayo senior football manager Kevin McStay has named an unchanged team from the starting team in the quarter-final clash with Roscommon. The starting fifteen who now face Galway is listed below. The Connacht Final is this Sunday 5th May in Pearse Stadium Salthill. Throw-in is at 4 pm.
Mayo and Galway have met on 94 occasions in the championship with 45 wins for Mayo, 43 for Galway and six draws. Sunday will be the 13th meeting of Mayo and Galway in Pearse Stadium, the first was famously in 1967 when Mayo dethroned the reigning three-in-a-row All-Ireland champions by 3-13 to 1-8. On the day the Mayo team that captured the Connacht Titles in 1996, 1997 and 1999 will be honoured on the field at half-time. Paddy Durcan will captain the team on the day.
Mayo Senior Football Team:
  1. Colm Reape Knockmore
  2. Jack Coyne Ballyhaunis
  3. Rory Brickenden Westport
  4. Sam Callinan Ballina Stephenites
  5. Paddy Durcan (C) Castlebar Mitchels
  6. David McBrien Ballaghaderreen
  7. Donnacha McHugh Castlebar Mitchels
  8. Stephen Coen Hollymount Carramore
  9. Matthew Ruane Breaffy
  10. Jordan Flynn Crossmolina Deel Rovers
  11. Fergal Boland Aghamore
  12. Jack Carney Kilmeena
  13. Aidan O’Shea Breaffy
  14. Tommy Conroy The Neale
  15. Ryan O’Donoghue Béal an Mhuirthead
  1. Rob Hennelly Raheny
  2. Enda Hession Garrymore
  3. Conor Loftus Crossmolina Deel Rovers
  4. Darren McHale Knockmore
  5. Eoghan McLaughlin Westport
  6. Cillian O’Connor Ballintubber
  7. Diarmuid O’Connor Ballintubber
  8. Padraig O’Hora Ballina Stephenites
  9. Kevin Quinn Ballinrobe
  10. Paul Towey Charlestown Sarsfields
  11. Bob Tuohy Castlebar Mitchels


Share story:

Olympic Games Boxing World Qualifiers draw announced

The draws have taken place in the 2nd Olympic World Qualifier in Bangkok. 579 boxers from 133 countries will contest the tournament. As with the 1st Olymp...

Eddie McCormack talks golf and farm-life in Galway

TB devastated his farmyard in March of last year and it forced him into a rethink, Eddie McCormack was mentally drained. Now he has gone organic, there ar...

Shamrock Rovers vs Galway United (Women's Premier Division Preview with Phil Trill)

Galway United return to SSE Airtricity League Women’s Premier Division action on Saturday (25th May 2024) when they travel to Shamrock Rovers. The T...

Galway Community Games Team event draws announced

The draws for the Galway Community Games Team events for 2024 have been announced. All preliminary round games in the bigger entries must be completed by ...