Galway Beaten By Mayo In Allianz National Football League

The Galway Senior Footballers ambitions of a first National Football League Title since 1981 suffered a severe blow on Sunday Afternoon when beaten 3-23 to 0-17 by Mayo at Tuam Stadium.

Kevin Dwyer Reports

After the game, Kevin spoke to a disappointed Galway Manager Padraig Joyce.

Mayo manager James Horan also spoke to the assembled media following their win.

Scorers for Mayo: Cillian O’Connor 0-10 (8s), Mark Moran, Paddy Durcan, and Conor Loftus (1m) 1-2 each, Tommy Conroy and Aidan O’Shea 0-3 each, Stephen Coen 0-1 (m).

Scorers for Galway: Robert Finnerty 0-7 (5fs), Paul Conroy 0-3, Liam Silke 0-2, Cillian McDaid, Gary O’Donnell, Matthias O Baireid, Adrian Varley, and Cein D’Arcy 0-1 each.

MAYO: David Clarke; Oisin Mullin, David McBrien, Lee Keegan; Paddy Durcan, Stephen Coen, Eoghan McLaughlin; Mattie Ruane, Conor Loftus; Fionn McDonagh, Mark Moran, Diarmuid O’Connor; Cillian O’Connor, Aidan O’Shea, Tommy Conroy.

Subs: Bryan Walsh for McDonagh (43), Padraig O’Hora for McBrien (50), Darren Coen for C O’Connor (54), Ryan O’Donoghue for D O’Connor (54), Jordan Flynn for Ruane (62).

GALWAY: Connor Gleeson; Conor Campbell, Sean Andy O Ceallaigh, Johnny Heaney; Liam Silke, Johnny Duane, Cillian McDaid; Cein D’Arcy, John Maher; Eamonn Brannigan, Damien Comer, Jason Leonard; Robert Finnerty, Paul Conroy, Ian Burke.

Subs: Michael Daly for Comer (5), Gary O’Donnell for Duane (10), Adrian Varley for Brannigan (31), Tom Flynn for Maher (HT), Matthias O Baireid for D’Arcy (56).

REFEREE: Maurice Deegan (Laois).

Weekend’s Division One Results

Kerry 0-17 Monaghan 0-14

Dublin1-20 Meath 0-19

Galway 0-17 Mayo 3-23

Donegal 2-17 Tyrone 2-13

The League Tables Following The Weekend’s Games In The Allianz National Football League Division One

Next Week’s Fixtures

Saturday October 24th (2pm)

Kerry v Donegal at Austin Stack Park

Sunday October 25th (2pm)

Galway v Dublin at Pearse Stadium

Monaghan v Meath at Clones

Mayo v Tyrone at McHale Park