27 September 2023

~2 minutes read

Galway Athletics Report

Share story:
Galway Athletics Report

Galway Cross Country Championships

The first day of the Galway Cross Country championships for 2023 was held at Galway Racecourse in Ballybrit last Saturday by Castlegar and Tuam AC.

Winners on the day at Senior level were Helena O’Keeffe of Craughwell AC and William Fitzgerald also of Craughwell, making it a hat trick of titles for the talented Fitzgerald.

At U10 level, there were wines for Finbarr Sayers Salas of Castlegar and Cathy Anne Sheridan of South Galway.

In the U12 competitions Aoibhe Daly of CRH and Harry Melia of Athenry AC emerged victorious, while at U14 Level, Alan Hallinan of Craughwell and Ruby McGuire of Tuam won out.

In the U16s, Claudia Coyle of Craughwell AC won the ladies event, with clubmate Ciaran Considine winning the Boys race.

Mollie Smith of Loch Lurgan AC won the U18 Girls title., with Luke O’Sullivan of Craughwell storming clear to claim the Boys U18 crown.


Galway Primary Schools Cross Country

The Semi Finals of the Primary Schools Cross Country athletics took place on Tuesday, the 26th of September on Nolan Park, Renmore.

With 2600 pupils representing 150 schools from across the entire county, the event was a true success on a lovely autumn day.

The divisions included 3rd & 4th class girls, 3rd & 4th class boys, 5th & 6th class girls and 5th & 6th class boys.

The top 30 from each race will now go forward to contest in next week’s finals that will also take place on Nolan’s field in Renmore on Tuesday, 3rd of October.

The winners from next week will then qualify for the Connaught Championships that will take place in Galway on the 11th of October.

Many thanks for the tireless organising and work by volunteers and supporters with a special thanks to  Galway City Harriers


Loughrea 10k

Loughrea AC hosted their annual Grey Lake 10k Sunday last. The overall winner was Paul Caulfield in a time of  36.34, with Gerard Garvin second and Lorcan Doyle third.

The first lady home was Emily Miskella of Craughwell AC in 45.27 ahead of Eimear Bray and Niamh O’Brien.

Share story:

Drogheda United 2-3 Galway United (Premier Division Commentary and Reaction with Maurice Nugent and John Caulfield)

Two injury-time goals from Maurice Nugent and Stephen Walsh gave Galway United a sensational victory in the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division on Frid...

Roscommon 3-5 Galway 0-7 (Connacht Minor Football Semi-Final Commentary and Reaction with Neil McHugh)

While their 2024 season isn’t over, Galway’s hopes of winning the Connacht or All-Ireland Minor A Football Championship ended in Tuam Stadium ...

Connacht vs Stormers (United Rugby Championship Preview with William Davies and John Muldoon)

Clifden’s Tiernan O’Halloran starts his final BKT United Rugby Championship home game for Connacht on Saturday (18th May 2024) against the DHL Stormer...

LIVE STREAM: Airtricity League Premier Division - Galway United v Drogheda

Join us for the live online stream of the Airtricity League Premier Division, Galway United v Drogheda. The action kicks off at 7.45 pm in Drogheda. Don&#...