3 February 2024

~2 minutes read

Galway 4-31 Westmeath 0-12 – Commentary and Reaction

Share story:
Galway 4-31 Westmeath 0-12 – Commentary and Reaction

Galway opened their Allianz National Hurling League Division 1 season with a facile win over Westmeath in Pearse Stadium on Saturday.

In a game that they were never troubled, goals from Jason Flynn with two and one each from Conor Whelan and Cianan Fahy along with 11 points from Evan Niland saw Galway run out winners by a whopping 31 points in a game that featured scores from 12 separate players.

Here is the commentary of the game from Sean Walsh, Cyril Farrell and Niall Canavan.

Niall Canavan with the Full Time match report

After the game, Sean Walsh got the thoughts of Galway Bay FM Match Analyst Cyril Farrell

Galway Manager Henry Shefflin spoke to the media including our own Niall Canavan

Galway: Darach Fahy; Jack Grealish, TJ Brennan, Eoin Lawless; Cianan Fahy (1-1), Padraic Mannion, Daithi Burke; Donal O’Shea (0-2), Gavin Lee (0-4); Seán Linnane, Jason Flynn (2-2, 1f), John Cooney (0-1); Evan Niland (0-11, 6f, 1’65), Tom Monaghan (0-5), Declan McLoughlin (0-2).

Subs: Jamie Ryan (0-1) for McLoughlin (half-time), Ronan Glennon (0-1) for Linnane (49), Darren Morrissey (0-1) for Burke (50), Conor Whelan (1-0) for Cooney (54), Ian McGlynn for Niland (60), Dan Loftus for Lawless (63).

Westmeath: Noel Conaty; Conor Gaffney, Johnny Bermingham, Darragh Egerton; Jack Gillen, Kevin Regan, Cormac Boyle; Shane McGovern, Michael Daly; Owen McCabe, Darragh Clinton (0-1), Niall Mitchell (0-1); David Williams (0-7, 6f), Eoin Keyes, Peter Clarke.

Subs: David O’Reilly (0-2) for Keyes (46), Mark Cunningham (0-1) for Daly (53), Joseph Boyle for Bermingham (60), Oisin Loughlin for McGovern (66), Ciaran Doyle for Clarke (66).

Referee: Sean Stack (Dublin).

Share story:

Galway Book Place In All-Ireland Senior Football Final - Commentary and Reaction

Galway are back in the All-Ireland Senior Football Final after a tense two point win over Donegal in Croke Park this afternoon. Padraic Joyce’s men ...

Irish Athletics Team Selected For Olympic Games - Reaction

The Olympic Federation of Ireland has selected the athletics team who are set to compete at the Olympic Games in Paris this summer. Team Ireland will be r...

F1 with Darragh Canning of P1 Predict

Darragh Canning of P1 Predict gives his report on the Formula One Season at the Half way Stage....

Galway Intermediate Camogie Team beaten in All-Ireland Quarter Final - Commentary and Reaction

Galway’s hopes of reaching the All-Ireland Intermediate Camogie Semi-Final came to an end at Semple Stadium on Saturday afternoon when they were bea...