1 February 2024

~1 minutes read

Daithi Burke Returns as Galway Make Eleven Changes for National Hurling League Opener Against Westmeath

Share story:
Daithi Burke Returns as Galway Make Eleven Changes for National Hurling League Opener Against Westmeath

The Galway senior hurling team to play Westmeath in their National League opener on Saturday (3rd February 2024) in Pearse Stadium has been named.

Daithi Burke makes his first appearance of the season at centre back, as there are 11 changes from the team that were defeated in the Walsh Cup Final last Sunday.

Darach Fahy starts in goal with TJ Brennan at full back, while Cianan Fahy and Padraic Mannion flank Daithi Burke.

Donal O’Shea and Sean Linnane are at midfield, while Clarinbridge duo Gavin Lee and Evan Niland, as well as Jason Flynn and Declan McLaughlin are named in attack.

Declan McLaughlin starts his first league game for Galway, after making his debut last year. Jamie Ryan and Conor Whelan are named in the match day squad.

Galway v Westmeath: Darach Fahy, Jack Grealish, TJ Brennan, Eoin Lawless, Cianan Fahy, Daithi Burke, Padraic Mannion, Donal O’Shea, Sean Linnane, Gavin Lee, Tom Monaghan, John Cooney, Evan Niland, Jason Flynn, Declan McLoughlin.

Subs: Eanna Murphy, Darren Morrissey, Daniel Loftus, Shane Morgan, Michael Walsh, Ronan Glennon, Ian McGlynn, Jamie Ryan, Conor Whelan.

Throw-in at Pearse Stadium on Saturday is 2pm and we’ll have LIVE coverage here on Galway Bay FM.

Share story:

All-Ireland PPS Senior B Hurling Preview - Portumna Community School face St Killians Antrim in Semi-Final

This Saturday afternoon, Portumna Community School will make the long journey to Dowdallshill in Louth to take on Ulster Champions St Killians in the Semi...

Galway Minor A Football Championship draws made

The draws were made last night for the Galway Minor A (U17) Football Championship. The 8 participating teams play seven round-robin games before the top 4...

Galway Hurling League fixtures announced

The Galway hurling leagues start on the opening weekend of April, with five rounds of matches scheduled throughout April, May and the first weekend in Jun...

Ballina's Deora Marsh to be inducted into the Basketball Ireland Hall Of Fame

It is only fitting that Deora’s contribution to Irish basketball as a player, captain, coach and role model over the last 40 years be recognised by his ...