5 October 2023

~2 minutes read

Craughwell’s Tom Monaghan named in Ireland Squad for the Hurling/Shinty international with Scotland

Share story:
Craughwell’s Tom Monaghan named in Ireland Squad for the Hurling/Shinty international with Scotland

Craughwell’s Tom Monaghan has been named in Damien Coleman’s Ireland Squad for the Hurling/Shinty international with Scotland on Saturday the 21st at Pairc Esler in Newry.

The Craughwell man is one of two Connacht hurlers named in the squad along with Mickey Joe Egan of St Dominic’s in Roscommon.

Fourteen counties are represented in total with the team captained by Antrim and Cushendall star Neil McManus.

The match will mark a momentous occasion for players as they return to the hybrid game for the first time since 2019.

The team is being managed by Damien Coleman from Galway, with an experienced backroom team of Kieran Kingston (Cork), Terence ‘Sambo’ McNaughton (Antrim) and Michael Kavanagh (Kilkenny).

“We are delighted with our progress; we have a strong panel assembled for the Hurling-Shinty International with representation from 14 counties. It’s vital that we as an Association maintain our traditions, and this event affords hurlers from all tiers the opportunity to play together.

“The players are all looking forward, as are all our management team to October 21st when we welcome the Scotland team to Páirc Esler,” said manager Damien Coleman.

The Hurling/ Shinty international featuring Ireland against Scotland is on Saturday, 21st October at 2.45pm in Páirc Esler in Newry. The game will be shown live on the official TG4 YouTube channel.

Hurling/Shinty International – Ireland Senior Team:

Niall Arthur, Iniskeen Grattans – Monaghan

Mickey Joe Egan, St Dominic’s – Roscommon

David Fitzgerald, Inagh-Kilnamona – Clare

Peter Duggan, Clooney-Quin – Clare

Andrew Gilsenan-Kavanagh, Barndarrig – Wicklow

Cillian Kiely, Kilcormac-Killoughey – Offaly

Eoghan Cahill, Birr – Offaly

Fionan Mackessy, St Brendan’s – Kerry

Luca McCusker, Maguiresbridge – Fermanagh

Neil McManus, Ruairí Óg, Cushendall – Antrim

Chris Nolan, Mount Leinster Rangers – Carlow

Ryan Mullaney, Castletown – Laois

Stephen Maher, Clough-Ballacolla – Laois

Paddy Purcell, Rathdowney-Errill – Laois

Enda Rowland, Abbeyleix – Laois

Caolan Taggart, Portaferry – Down

Padraig Walsh, Tullaroan – Kilkenny

Ger Millerick, Father O’Neill’s – Cork

Rob Downey, Glen Rovers – Cork

Tom Monaghan, Craughwell – Galway

Share story:

Galway United Women's Manager Phil Trill Signs New Two Year Deal

Galway United Women’s Manager Phil Trill has signed a new deal that will keep him at the club for the next two seasons. Appointed at the beginning o...

The Underdogs Preparing To Face Galway United Women On Saturday Night

This Saturday Night, Avenir Sports All-Island Cup Champions Galway United Women will face The Underdogs at Eamon Deacy Park. The Underdogs, made by Adare ...

Alan Bane appointed Connacht Rugby Junior Head Coach

Alan Bane has been named as head coach of the Connacht Juniors for the forthcoming interprovincial series. The current Castlebar head coach and former Cor...

Over The Line - The Panel

Gerry Murphy and George McDonagh were joined by Mike Rafferty and William Davies to discuss the weekend’s sporting action....