29 April 2024

~4 minutes read

Connacht Senior Football Final Preview – Stat Attack and Ticket Details

Share story:
Connacht Senior Football Final Preview – Stat Attack and Ticket Details

The great western rivals meet for a 12th successive year in the championship. Nine of the previous eleven were in the Connacht championship, with the other two in the 2019 All-Ireland qualifiers and last year’s All-Ireland preliminary quarter-final.

Other than in the 2021 Connacht final, which Mayo won by six points in Croke Park, all the games since 2016 have been won by margins of 1-3 points, making it one of the most competitive rivalries in football.


2023: Mayo 1-10 Galway 0-12 (All-Ireland preliminary quarter-final)
2022: Galway 1-14 Mayo 0-16 (Connacht quarter-final)
2021: Mayo 2-14 Galway 2-8 (Connacht final)
2020: Mayo 0-14 Galway 0-13 (Connacht final)
2019: Mayo 2-13 Galway 1-13 (Qualifier Round 4)
2018: Galway 1-12 Mayo 0-12 (Connacht quarter-final)
2017: Galway 0-15 Mayo 1-11 (Connacht semi-final)
2016: Galway 1-12 Mayo 0-12 (Connacht semi-final)
2015: Mayo 1-15 Galway 2-8 (Connacht semi-final)
2014: Mayo 3-14 Galway 0-16 (Connacht final)

Mayo 6 Galway 4


2021: Mayo 2-14 Galway 2-8
2020: Mayo 0-14 Galway 0-13
2014: Mayo 3-14 Galway 0-16
2009: Mayo 2-12 Galway 1-14
2008: Galway 2-12 Mayo 1-14

*Mayo beat New York (2-21 to 0-6) and Roscommon (1-15 to 0-13) to reach the final; Galway beat London (5-21 to 0-9) and Sligo (1-13 to 0-14).

*This will be the 94th championship game between the counties with previous results as follows: Mayo 45 wins; Galway 42 wins; Draws 6.

*Home advantage hasn’t exactly been that in this rivalry in recent times. Galway won championship games with Mayo

in Castlebar in 2022-2018-2016 while Mayo won in Pearse Stadium in 2013-2015-2020-2023. Galway’s last championship win over Mayo in Pearse Stadium was in 2017.

*Galway manager, Padraic Joyce played eleven championship games against Mayo between 1998 and 2011, winning six and losing five. Mayo manager, Kevin McStay played five championship games against Galway between 1983 and 1990, winning one, drawing one and losing three.

*Galway are in the final for a ninth successive year, having last missed out in 2015. They won four and lost four, with one draw (v Roscommon in 2016).

*Mayo have beaten Galway in the last four Connacht finals between the counties in 2021-2020-2014-2009, three of them (2021-2020-2009) by one point margins. Galway’s last Connacht final win over Mayo was in 2008, also by a point.


Match tickets for the event are on sale from all usual outlets (see below).

The various prices for the match tickets are as follows:

NB: Dul Isteach- Ticket Only

Pre-purchase Prices

– Stand €35

– Terrace € 25


– OAP: €5 reduction Stand and Terrace

– Students: €5 reduction Terrace only

– U 16: €5 reduction Terrace Only

– Family Tickets: Stand Adult + Juvenile €40 (Tickets limited)

All patrons intending to travel to the Final are reminded to purchase their tickets in advance as there will be no tickets on sale outside the ground on the day.

Ticket outlets:

On-line via https://am.ticketmaster.com/gaa/connachtsfc24

Selected SuperValu & Centra stores – (see list below)

*Extra time to be played in the event of a draw, A Winner must be decided on the Day

Centra  Oughterard  Galway 
Centra  Kilcolgan  Galway 
Centra  Carnmore  Galway 
Centra  Ballygar  Galway 
Centra  Corofin  Galway 
Centra  Tuam  Galway 
Centra  Tuam Road (Monaghans)  Galway 
Centra  Headford  Galway 
Centra  Oranmore  Galway 
Centra  Ballinasloe  Galway 
Centra  Gort  Galway 
Centra  Spiddal  Galway 
SuperValu  Claregalway  Galway 
SuperValu  Barna  Galway 
SuperValu  Loughrea – Michael McInerney  Galway 
SuperValu  Tuam  Galway 
SuperValu  Clifden  Galway 
SuperValu  Gort  Galway 
SuperValu  Ballinasloe  Galway 
SuperValu  Lackagh  Galway 
SuperValu  Portumna – O’Meara  Galway 
SuperValu  Mountbellew  Galway 
SuperValu  Glenamaddy – Heneghans  Galway 
Centra  Drumshambo  Leitrim 
SuperValu  Manorhamilton  Leitrim 
SuperValu  Ballinamore  Leitrim 
SuperValu  Carrickonshannon  Leitrim 
Centra  Ballindine  Mayo 
Centra  Crossmolina  Mayo 
Centra  Newport  Mayo 
Centra  Balla  Mayo 
Centra  Belmullet  Mayo 
Centra  Kilkelly  Mayo 
Centra  Castlebar(Keegans)  Mayo 
SuperValu  Ballyhaunis  Mayo 
SuperValu  Westport – Kavanagh  Mayo 
SuperValu  Castlebar  Mayo 
SuperValu  Claremorris  Mayo 
SuperValu  Achill  Mayo 
SuperValu  Ballinrobe – Cummins  Mayo 
SuperValu  Kiltimagh  Mayo 
SuperValu  Ballina  Mayo 
Centra  Tarmonbarry  Roscommon 
SuperValu  Monksland, Athlone  Roscommon 
SuperValu  Ballaghadereen  Roscommon 
SuperValu  Roscommon  Roscommon 
SuperValu  Castlerea  Roscommon 
SuperValu  Boyle  Roscommon 
SuperValu  Strokestown  Roscommon 
Centra  Centra  Sligo 
Centra  Charlestown  Sligo 
Centra  Magheraboy – Cosgrove  Sligo 
Centra  Collooney  Sligo 
Centra  Enniscrone  Sligo 
SuperValu  Ballisodare  Sligo 
SuperValu  Grange  Sligo 
SuperValu  Ballymote  Sligo 
SuperValu  Tubbercurry – Surlis  Sligo 

Share story:

Galway Minor Ladies Win Connacht A Final - The Manager's Reaction

A goal in the final minute from Dunmore MacHales Rebecca Noone won the Galway Minor Ladies Connacht A Final on Saturday at the Connacht COE. Galway had le...

Defeat for Connacht in United Rugby Championship - Commentary and Reaction

Connacht’s hopes of reaching the United Rugby Championship Playoffs hang by a thread following their 16-12 defeat to The Stormers in the Sportsgroun...

Galway Footballers Open All-Ireland Group Stage with Win - Commentary and Reaction

Galway’s Senior Footballers got their All-Ireland Senior Championship Group Stage off to a winning start with a 2-14 to 0-15 win over Derry in Pears...

Galway Hurlers Beat Antrim - Commentary and Reaction

Galway’s Senior Hurlers produced an important and impressive win over Antrim in the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship on Saturday afternoon. Desp...