13 April 2023

~1 minutes read

Connacht Rugby confirms departing players

Share story:
Connacht Rugby confirms departing players

Connacht Rugby has confirmed the players who will depart the club at the end of the season.

As previously announced, double centurion Kieran Marmion moves to Bristol Bears at the end of the campaign, while Shane Delahunt and Alex Wootton have announced their retirements from pro rugby.

Also leaving the club are Adam Byrne, Leva Fifita, Conor Fitzgerald, Seán Masterson and Ciaran Booth.

Director of Rugby Andy Friend says:

“The eight men have each made their own unique contributions to Connacht Rugby, so I’d like to thank them and wish them every success in the future, wherever their path may take them. I’m sure they’ll get a well-deserved reception when we acknowledge them on the pitch after our final home game against Cardiff on Saturday.

I also want to thank Mossy Lawler and Dewald Senekal who finish up with us at the end of the season, after two years in the Pro coaching team. They’ve both played very important roles in the development of the squad in that time, and to them and their families I wish them every happiness in the future.”

Share story:

Waterford 0-0 Galway United (SSE Airtricity League Premier Division Commentary and Reaction)

Galway United and Waterford played out their first scoreless draw in 10 years on Friday (12th April) as they shared the spoils in the SSE Airtricity Leagu...

Benetton vs Connacht (European Rugby Challenge Cup Quarter-Final Preview)

Connacht head to Italy this Sunday (14th April 2024) for the European Rugby Challenge Cup Quarter-Final against Benetton. The sides met two weeks earlier ...

Galway 0-11 Sligo 2-5 (Connacht Minor Football Championship Commentary and Reaction)

A Killian Joyce equaliser three minutes into added time secured Galway a priceless point in their opening game of the Connacht Minor Football Championship...

LIVE STREAM: Connacht Minor Football Championship Galway v Sligo

Join us for the live online stream of the Connacht Minor Football Championship Galway v Sligo. The action kicks off at 6:30pm tonight at Tuam Stadium. Don...