30 December 2023

~2 minutes read

Connacht name team to face Munster in URC

Share story:
Connacht name team to face Munster in URC

The Connacht matchday 23 has been named for Monday’s New Year’s Day clash with Munster at a sold-out Sportsground (k/o 3pm).

There are six changes from the side that started the narrow loss to Ulster before Christmas, with Peter Dooley, Dave Heffernan, Joe Joyce, Jarrad Butler, JJ Hanrahan and Cathal Forde coming into the starting XV, Caolin Blade captains the side from scrum-half, while the management team have opted for a 6:2 split on the bench with the fit-again Oisín Dowling included as well as Niall Murray and Conor Oliver. Also among the replacements is club captain Jack Carty.

Commenting ahead of the game, head coach Pete Wilkins says:

“Munster arrive at the Sportsground as URC champions so we are fully aware of their quality and the challenge that awaits us. However we have been steadily improving different aspects of our game over the last few weeks and arrive ourselves with enormous determination to turn around our recent run of results.

Every interpro is a massive occasion, but a sold-out Sportsground on New Year’s Day will make the game even more special for the 23 we have picked to represent us this week. Everyone involved can’t wait to get out there and deliver a big performance for our supporters.”

With a capacity crowd expected, supporters are encouraged to travel to the ground in good time and only make their way to the stadium if they have a valid ticket. Gates will be open at 1.30pm.

15:00, Monday 1st January 2024 @ The Sportsground

15. Mack Hansen (31)
14. Byron Ralston (25)
13. Cathal Forde (20)
12. Bundee Aki (130)
11. Shayne Bolton (7)
10. JJ Hanrahan (9)
9. Caolin Blade (180) (C)
1. Peter Dooley (26)
2. Dave Heffernan (187)
3. Finlay Bealham (195)
4. Darragh Murray (17)
5. Joe Joyce (8)
6. Cian Prendergast (56)
7. Shamus Hurley-Langton (28)
8. Jarrad Butler (119)

16. Dylan Tierney-Martin (31)
17. Denis Buckley (237)
18. Jack Aungier (58)
19. Niall Murray (64)
20. Oisín Dowling (50)
21. Michael McDonald (2)
22. Jack Carty (201)
23. Conor Oliver (72)

Share story:

All-Ireland PPS Senior B Hurling Preview - Portumna Community School face St Killians Antrim in Semi-Final

This Saturday afternoon, Portumna Community School will make the long journey to Dowdallshill in Louth to take on Ulster Champions St Killians in the Semi...

Galway Minor A Football Championship draws made

The draws were made last night for the Galway Minor A (U17) Football Championship. The 8 participating teams play seven round-robin games before the top 4...

Galway Hurling League fixtures announced

The Galway hurling leagues start on the opening weekend of April, with five rounds of matches scheduled throughout April, May and the first weekend in Jun...

Ballina's Deora Marsh to be inducted into the Basketball Ireland Hall Of Fame

It is only fitting that Deora’s contribution to Irish basketball as a player, captain, coach and role model over the last 40 years be recognised by his ...