8 September 2023

~1 minutes read

Anthony Cunningham Looks Back on Galway’s 1983 All-Ireland Minor Hurling Final Win

Share story:
Anthony Cunningham Looks Back on Galway’s 1983 All-Ireland Minor Hurling Final Win

Last Monday (4th September) marked the 40th anniversary of Galway’s first-ever All-Ireland Minor Hurling championship victory.

Coached by Cyril Farrell, the Tribesmen won the Irish Press Cup for the first time beating Dublin 0-10 to 0-7 in Croke Park.

Joe Cooney scored 0-4, Sean Keane 0-3, Tom Maloney 0-2, and John Joe Broderick 0-1.

Their captain on that historic day was St. Thomas’ Anthony Cunningham and he joined Galway Bay FM’s Darren Kelly for a chat on Friday’s (8th September) ‘Over The Line.’

‘Over The Line’s weekend preview show broadcasts every Friday evening from 7pm on Galway Bay FM.

Galway – 1983 All-Ireland Minor Hurling Champions. Back Row: (left to right) Declan Jennings, Sean Keane, Tom Monaghan, John Cummins, Tom Maloney, Pakie Dervan, J.J. Broderick, Sean Treacy. Front Row: (left to right) Pat Higgins, Gerry Mcinerney, Pat Malone, Anthony Cunningham, Martin Killeen, Padraic Brehony, Joe Cooney

Share story:

Connacht v Scarlets - United Rugby Championship Preview and Team News

Connacht take on the Scarlets on Saturday evening in the Dexcom Stadium in Galway in the United Rugby Championship and the big team news is Eoin de Buitl�...

Galway Senior Hurling Captain looking forward to Saturday's Family Fun Day for Hand in Hand

This Saturday will see the Galway Hurlers team up with Loughrea based charity Hand in Hand for a special fundraiser. The hurlers will be hosting a Family ...

All-Ireland PPS Senior B Hurling Preview - Portumna Community School face St Killians Antrim in Semi-Final

This Saturday afternoon, Portumna Community School will make the long journey to Dowdallshill in Louth to take on Ulster Champions St Killians in the Semi...

Galway Minor A Football Championship draws made

The draws were made last night for the Galway Minor A (U17) Football Championship. The 8 participating teams play seven round-robin games before the top 4...