NUI Galway announces election results for new governing authority


Galway Bay fm newsroom – NUI Galway has announced the results of elections for its new governing authority.

The new Údarás na hOllscoile will come into existence on February 1st and will serve until 2025.

Its role is to oversee and guide the strategic direction of the university over that time.

The membership of the new governing authority is as follows:

Dr Rachel Hilliard; Dr Anthony Grehan, Dr Dara Cannon, Professor Aisling McCluskey, Professor Michal Molcho, Professor Jim O’ Gara, Sinéad Beacom; Eric Mortimor; Monica Crump; Edel Browne; Conor Fottrell; retired Brigadier General Ger Aherne; and Nuala Ní Chonghaile.

President of NUI Galway, Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh, says the work of the new governing authority will be crucial in the coming months and years, as the university implements its strategic plan.