Celebrations to take place across city to mark 100th anniversary of first Dail

The Sinn Fein members elected in the December 1918 election at the first Dail Eireann meeting, called by Sinn Fein on January 21, 1919. Shown are (from l to r): 1st row: L. Ginell, Michael Collins (leader of the Irish Republican Army), Cathal Brugha, Arthur Griffiths (founder of Sinn Fein), Eamon de Valera (president of the Irish Republic), Count E. MacNeill, William Cosgrave and E. Blythe; 2nd row: P. Maloney, Terence McSwiney (Lord Mayor of Dublin), Richard Mulcahy, J. O'Doherty, J. O'Mahony, J. Dolan, J. McGuinness, P. O'Keefe, Michael Staines, McGrath, Dr. B. Cussack, L. de Roiste, W. Colivet and the Reverend Father Michael O'Flanagan (vice-president of Sinn Fein); 3rd row: P. War, A. McCabe, D. Fitzgerald, J. Sweeney, Dr. Hayes, C. Collins, P. O'Maillie, J. O'Mara, B. O'Higgins, J. Burke and Kevin O'Higgins; 4th row: J. McDonagh and J. McEntee; 5th row: P. B 1919 Ireland

Galway Bay fm newsroom – Celebrations are to take place across the city tomorrow to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the First Dáil. (21/1)

The first Dáil met on the 21st of January 1919 in the Round Room of the Mansion House in Dublin.

It was there that Dáil Members adopted the Constitution and read out the Declaration of Independence.

A parade will take place in the city tomorrow to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the first Dáil.

The event, hosted by An Taibhdhearc, the national Irish language theatre, will commence at Middle Street at 2.50 pm.

It’ll include actors playing Teachtaí Dála and members of the Tulla Pipe Band from Clare and will be followed by a re-enactment of the first Dáil meeting in front of the Tower at Eyre Square Shopping centre.

An Taibhdhearc will also hold a free event at the theatre at 5:30pm with an address by Professor Gearóid Ó Tuathaigh.

Meanwhile Galway Council of Trade Unions will hold a special commemorative discussion to mark the occasion at the Mechanics Institute, Middle Street at 8pm alongside historians including Padraig Yeates.

Finally, Galway County Council will host two lectures at the Council Chamber on Prospect Hill from 1pm to 3pm to mark the event.