17 candidates to contest European election in Galway constituency

Galway Bay fm newsroom – 17 candidates will contest the European Parliament elections in the Midlands North West constituency.

There are 4 seats available in the constituency, which includes Galway.

The sitting MEPS for this region are Independent Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan, Sinn Féin’s Matt Carthy, Fine Gael’s Mairead McGuinness and Independent Marian Harkin.

All the sitting MEPs have declared that they will run again in the next election, except for Marian Harkin, who has chosen to not to seek re-election.

The other 14 candidates include Cyril Brennan from the Solidarity-People Before Profit party, Patrick Greene from Direct Democracy Ireland, Former T.D Dominic Hannigan of Labour, Independent Dilip Mahapatra, Saoirse McHugh from the Green Party, Independents James Miller, Diarmaid Mulcahy and Oliver O’ Connor and Michael O’ Dowd from Renua.

Fianna Fáil has put forward Galway East T.D Anne Rabbitte and Cavan-Monaghan T.D Brendan Smith to contest the European election.

Former Rose of Tralee, Maria Walsh from Shrule will contest the election for Fine Gael while former Fine Gael and Reform Alliance member and Senator, Fidelma Healy-Eames from Oranmore will run as an Independent candidate.

Presidential contestant Peter Casey will also run in the Midlands North West constituency as an Independent.